Stunt Truck

Suggested Age: 7-14
Pieces: 142
Casual Build Time: 45 minutes
Dimensions: Stunt Truck – over 3″ x 7″ x 3″ / Ramp – over 4″ x 3″ x under 1″ 
Brand: Technic

This kit was a bit of an impulse buy, as my local Toys R Us was having a sale on a bunch of LEGO sets that had been water damaged. Because of these, I apologise for how shoddy the box picks look. Luckily for me, none of the stickers or pieces had been damaged and so I got to pick up my first ever Technic kit for a nicely discounted price.

This set contained all the necessary pieces to make a Stunt Truck, as well as the a small ramp for it to jump over. It should be noted that this kit is designed to be combined with a separate kit – the Stunt Bike – in order to make a larger vehicle called the Power Racer. However, as the bike wasn’t in the Toys R Us sale, I’ll be looking at this kit for its own merits.

Here are some more pictures of the build process:

As this was my first Technic kit I didn’t really know what to expect. It turns out that they’re quite a lot more challenging than a regular set. While there are few large pieces, there are lots of studs and pipes of varying length and colour. You really do need to pay close attention to the guide as it’s sometimes hard to tell which is the correct piece to use (and they’re really hard to detach if you put them together wrong.

However, after a bit of trial and error, I managed to get my Stunt Truck looking halfway near decent.

 

The finished truck is simple but doesn’t look bad at all. It’s a lot bigger than my Speed Champions cars and has a nice sturdy feel to it. The car also has a little motor in the back, meaning that it powers forward if you pull it back. This is a nice touch, as it makes this car feel like a proper toy and it can certainly shift over a flat surface.

The ramp is also a nice addition. It’s solid enough to take the truck’s weight and is reinforced by a couple of LEGO pieces to ensure that it’s structurally sound. It’s not much, but it’s a nice addition to the set and it is fun to make the truck jump over this little ramp.

So, in all, this kit is a fun little toy and was a bit more of a challenge than the other cars that I’ve built. It doesn’t look greatly interesting on my shelf, but I’m sure that young master builders will have a lot of fun with it. Based on this experience, I’d definitely have another shot at building a Technic kit in the future.

Leave a Reply

