Yellow Submarine

dsc00098

Suggested Age: 10+
Pieces: 553
Casual Build Time: 2.5 hours
Dimensions: Yellow Submarine – over 5″ x 9″ x 2″ / Submarine Display Stand – over 1″ x 4″ x 3″ / Minifigure Display Stand – over 4″ x 1″ x under 1″
Brand: Ideas

Once again, I return to the brilliant LEGO Ideas series to look at their most recent release. Really, this kit doesn’t need any introduction. It’s the iconic submarine featured in the 1968 animation of the same name. Even though I’m not a huge fan of the Beatles, I think almost everyone has fond memories of this film and as soon as I saw this kit I knew that I had to add it to my collection.

dsc00099

The set contains all of the pieces needed to make the Yellow Submarine and a stand with which to display it on. In addition, it comes with minifigures of the Beatles – John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison and Ringo Starr- as well as a figure of Jeremy. The Beatles come complete with a selection of accessories from the film including the submarine motor, an apple and half a hole.

Here are some better photos of what you can find inside the box:

dsc00254dsc00204 dsc00205 dsc00206 dsc00208 dsc00209

Building this kit was far easier than I imagined. Based on my previous experiences with the Ideas range, I wasn’t expecting for the bags to be numbered and so I thought that constructing the submarine would be akin to my experiences building WALL-E (so many yellow bricks…). However, the numbered bags made building this a dream and I didn’t encounter any issues. There weren’t even any stickers, which is always a plus.

dsc00267 dsc00268 dsc00269

The finished model is simply stunning. It looks exactly as it does in the film and really is the star of my LEGO collection. Its bright colours immediately catch the eye and its stand is pretty sturdy so it it looks good on my shelf. The only problem with its design is that you can only really pose it facing right, as only one side of the rudder is smooth.

As a model, the submarine looks great. However, as a toy it’s pretty boring. Only the rudder and propellers move and so it isn’t that interesting to play around with. It’s also an expensive set for what you get, so if your kid isn’t a huge fan of the Beatles there are certainly cheaper and more interesting sets out their for them to play with.

dsc00270 dsc00271

The only thing that you can really do with this in terms of play is open it up. The inside contains enough space for all the Beatles to sit (which is an improvement over the Ideas Ecto-1), except for Jeremy who apparently wasn’t invited. There is also a little compartment in the back which holds the accessories, which is a nice touch.

dsc00258 dsc00260 dsc00261 dsc00263 dsc00265

I also love the minifigs as they’re wonderfully unique and each one is instantly recognisable. The details of their clothing is fantastic and I’m especially fond of little George as I love his little beard. Jeremy is also an amazing figure as he’s totally unique and even has a little pink plug for a tail.

All in all, this is a great kit for display (especially for Beatles fans) but it makes a lousy toy so that’s something to bear in mind if you’re buying for kids. Still, it’s one of my favourite builds to date and has pride of place on my shelf.

dsc00255

 

Leave a Reply

