Audi R8 LMS Ultra

DSC04371

Suggested Age: 7-14
Pieces: 175
Casual Build Time: 50 minutes
Dimensions: Car – over 1″ x 5″ x 1″ / Podium – over 1″ x 1″ x under 1″
Brand: Speed Champions

I’ve always enjoyed making LEGO cars but this is only the second one in this range that I’ve had the pleasure of making. These single car kits are decent value for money and come in a variety of styles, including Ferraris, Porsches and Fords. The only reason I went for the Audi over the others on display was because I liked the little trophy that came with it (yes, I am that sad).

DSC04372

The contents of the kit are pretty simple. It comes with pieces to build the car, a small podium, two flags, a trophy, a wrench and a mini-figure. I rather like the back of the box for this kit as it has a photo of what the real car looks like, showing that the LEGO version does look virtually identical.

Here are a couple of pictures of what came inside the box:

DSC04382 DSC04383

The kit itself was very easy to put together and the instructions were always simple to follow. The only part that I felt to be fiddly was the stickers. For a small set, this car had a lot of decals (over twenty in total). Even some of the big sets I’ve built like the Exploration Vessel had far less than this. Personally, I hate stickers. I understand why they’re necessary but I’m always terrified of putting them on wrong and ruining a model. If you have similar fears, this is probably a set to avoid.

DSC04388 DSC04389 DSC04390

The finished car is rather cool. It certainly looks the part, though I do feel it looks a little cheap in places, particularly due to small little irregularities like the visible join between the stickers on the front and back. There is some small customisability as the kit comes with two different sets of hub caps and these can be easily changed by using the supplied wrench to pop them out.

DSC04391 DSC04392

The set doesn’t have many moving parts other than the wheels and adjustable spoiler. To get the figure inside, you need to remove the roof of the car (much like Ecto-1). The driver fits inside nicely and certainly looks the part when the windscreen is back in place.

DSC04385 DSC04386

As sad as I am, it’s the extra pieces that make this kit worthwhile for me. I love the podium and trophy. The tiny car on top of the trophy is a particularly nice touch. The minifigure is pretty standard to these Speed Champion sets but I do like the fact that his jacket is printed with the branding to match his car.

All in all, it’s a nice cheap set that will be a great addition to the collection for a racing enthusiast. My only real issue with it was the amount of stickers which really did seem excessive for such a small set.

DSC04384

2 thoughts on “Audi R8 LMS Ultra

  1. Pingback: Ecto-1 & 2 – Arkham Bricks

  2. Pingback: Ford F-150 Raptor & Ford Model A Hot Rod – Arkham Bricks

Leave a Reply

