WALL-E

DSC04149

Suggested Age: 12+
Pieces: 676
Casual Build Time: 3.5 hours
Dimensions: 7″ x 6″ x 6″
Brand: Ideas

So it turns out that Disney Village in Paris has a pretty substantial LEGO store. Due to its location, it seemed appropriate for me to bring back a Disney themed kit as a souvenir of my holiday! This kit builds WALL-E, the main character of the 2008 Disney/Pixar film of the same name. As this set was designed by a Pixar animator, it is a very faithful interpretation of the cutest Waste Allocation Load Lifter of them all.

DSC04150

The contents of this kit are very simple as it only provides pieces to build the robot and the Last Plant on Earth. WALL-E boasts an adjustable neck, poseable head and arms, gripping hands, moving wheels and a storage compartment in his chest. Here’s some photos of what came in the box and the construction process. Click on the thumbnails to enlarge:

DSC04153 DSC04154 DSC04156 DSC04158 DSC04159 DSC04161 DSC04164 DSC04165

This kit was by far the most complicated one that I have built to date. As with the Ecto-1 set that I reviewed earlier this month, the bags were not numbered and most of the bricks were either grey or yellow. To make things even more difficult, there were a lot of very similar looking pieces. I had to dismantle my creation a couple of times as I found that I’d used the wrong bricks! If you do decide to build WALL-E, I advise taking special care to scrutinise the instructions as they aren’t always that clear.

This kit also might be a little tricky for younger builders. The recommended age for constructing this is 12+ and I do agree with LEGO in this regards. WALL-E is surprisingly fiddly to put together in places – particularly his head and arms – and the caterpillar tracks were rather stiff to click in place. Parental help will likely to be required for those with tiny fingers.

DSC04172

The finished model is surprisingly hefty. While this kit was mainly made up of tiny individual pieces, they came together to make a substantial figure that is instantly recognisable as the robot from the film. While he does make a better model than a toy, the multiple points of articulation make him a lot of fun to pose. I especially like that the angle between his eyes can be adjusted to give him an increasingly sad expression.

DSC04168

I also like the chest compartment. After my disappointment with the lack of moving parts on Ecto-1, it was nice to make a kit that I could really play around with. The storage space is just large enough to contain the plant, making it possible to reenact key scenes from the film (albeit without EVE). The only small issue I have with WALL-E is his hands. The fingers don’t grip as well as I would have liked, making it hard to pose him with the plant in the way he is on the box.

DSC04170 DSC04169

Yet don’t let these small issues put you off building the kit. While it was tricky (and sometimes a little frustrating) to put together, I do now feel a definite sense of satisfaction. The finished result is very impressive and certainly adds a little colour and variety to the spaceships and cars on my LEGO shelf. WALL-E is definitely a kit that I’d recommend.

One thought on “WALL-E

  1. Pingback: Yellow Submarine – Arkham Bricks

Leave a Reply

