Green Lantern vs. Sinestro

DSC03805

Suggested Age: 6-12
Pieces: 174
Casual Build Time: 40 minutes
Dimensions: Spaceship – 1″ x 7″ x 6″ / Cage – 4″ x 1″ x 1″
Brand: DC Comics Super Heroes

Wow, I didn’t even realise that they did this kit before I happened to spot it in Hamleys. As a huge fan of Green Lantern, I had to get my hands on it (for the Sinestro minifigure if nothing else). Here’s a picture of the back of the box. Sorry for the quality, I really need to get myself a better light source.

DSC03810The kit comes with a few different parts. The main buildable is the spaceship which comes complete with two stud shooters and two missiles which fire by twisting the rocket booster on the back.  There is also a cage which pops open if you hit the yellow lantern symbol on the top. In addition, the kit includes three minifigures, a spear, a green power battery and a super jumper, but I’ll get to those shortly.

First, here are a couple of pictures of what came inside the box:

DSC03817 DSC03819

There are a lot of items to talk about but I think I’ll begin by airing a small disappointment. The box boasts that there is a comic included inside but this is only a half truth. The comic (pictured on the left above) is actually only a few pages long and is really only a collection of single page adverts for the rest of the DC Super Heroes range. However, the kit itself was among the easiest that I’ve made. The instructions were very clear and the pieces fit together very neatly so I don’t think a child would have any trouble constructing it on their own.

DSC03827

The spaceship is the most complex item in the kit and is incredibly cool. It’s a nice size for a child to play with and the four weapons and adjustable rear wings make it lots of fun. While there isn’t anything holding Green Lantern in place in the cockpit (he is just lying in there), it’s snug enough so that he doesn’t really rattle around.

The ship itself also has a rather nifty design, clearly taking inspiration from the fact that Hal Jordan was a fighter pilot. The transparent green pieces are a really nice touch, giving the impression that the entire thing is a ring construct, however that left me wondering why there were so many black pieces. While it does make a nice contrast, I think that I would have looked better if they were dark green (though that’s just my aesthetic opinion).

The only real problem I have with the ship is that one of the missiles seems to be rather stiff and doesn’t fire easily. This could just be an issue with my kit and doesn’t really matter if you intend to just use the spaceship for display, however I could see it being frustrating for a child wanting to use the toy for imaginative play.

DSC03830 DSC03836

With imaginative play in mind, I really thought that the cage was a fantastic addition. Sinestro can steal the power battery and lock it away, only to wind up becoming trapped himself when Green Lantern and Batman come to save the day. The cage is also very easy to assemble and easily fits the Green Lantern and Sinestro figures (Batman’s cape makes him too large). The huge yellow lantern logo on top is a really neat detail and also makes a good target – a direct hit from one of the spaceship’s missiles causes the cage to snap open.

DSC03835 DSC03841

The three minifigures are also pretty cool. As I said before, I’m a huge Green Lantern geek and just fell in love with the tiny Sinestro at first sight. The detail on his costume, the tiny mustache and the amazing yellow light spear make him one of the coolest minifigures that I own. Green Lantern doesn’t really have any props as the power battery is a little big for him to comfortably hold but does have a choice of two facial expressions. I particularly like the cheeky grin.

Space Batman feels a little out of place in this kit but I guess they felt the need to have a more popular character to make it more marketable. Space Batman comes with an additional head and two capes (one open and one closed), as well as a tiny jetpack that clips onto his back.

Finally, let’s just take a quick look at the additional items:

DSC03832 DSC03842

The power battery is just plain awesome. It’s such a simple item but it really looks the part. It’s also the perfect prop for imaginative play. You can’t really have Green Lantern without his power battery!

The other item is the super jumper and that was a bit more of a disappointment. It really just felt like a bit of a gimmick. Ignore the picture on the box that shows Green Lantern soaring through the air. Maybe I just don’t have the knack but my attempts to use the super jumper just resulted in the minifigures falling flat on their faces.

All in all, I felt that this was a really good kit on the whole. It’s great fun to play around with and has some really nice unique parts to it. I’ve not really been collecting the super hero kits until now but perhaps I should look into getting a few more of them in the future.

Leave a Reply

